5 Love Languages

As promised, my first article in my “February Love Series” is all about the five love languages. First I am going to start with what they are in general. The five love languages are five very specific ways in which the majority of people might show or receive affection. Each of us may communicate in more than one of these, however there is often one or two that are more prominent than the others.

The first love language that I will cover is Words of Affirmation. This love language means that you feel love the most when people compliment you, or they tell you that you are doing a great job with work, or a project or a talent that you have, anything. A person who experiences love best this way, is typically very good at giving other people love this way as well. So someone’s love language is Words of Affirmation tries to affirm other, and compliment them, and let them know when they are doing a good job with something.

#2 is Acts of Service. This love language is all about what someone does for them. For example someone with this love language is very busy and has a lot on their plate. They are working, and going to school and writing devotions, and writing a blog and there is sooooo much going on. They are working on a huge project for work and they don’t have time to clean the house or do the dishes. Their significant other, or their children, or their friends take notice and clean the house without being asked. This is acts of service. Again, someone who experiences love this way often does this for other people. They tend to be intuitive and can tell when others are overwhelmed and know when someone needs help.

#3 is Receiving Gifts. This love language is pretty self-explanatory. A person with this language likes to receive gifts, but they don’t always need to be extravagant. Sometimes a note, or a surprise piece of chocolate or a donut or flowers is all they need. Again, if this is their love language, they probably write notes, or buy flowers for other people because this is how they show affection in the easiest way.

#4 is Quality Time. People with this love language really value spending time with people that they love in any capacity. They like to spend time with their friends, family and their significant other. This could be going for a walk, watching a movie, camping, hiking, playing a board game. Pretty much anything that gets them spending time with those that they love and appreciate. Since this is their best way to communicate love they are willing to spend time with people at any moment because they recognize when someone else needs help.

The fifth and final love language is physical touch. This love language means that someone is most comforted by hugs, hand holding, back rubs, etc. Having human embrace and touch is what these people need to feel love. This is also how they show love to other people. They love to give hugs to anyone who looks like they might need one, and it is really hard for them if someone does not want a hug, however they understand that this is not everyone else’s love language.

So now what? Why are these important to know and understand? This world is crazy sometimes and busy and overwhelming and Love is the best medicine- which is super sappy for me to say, I know, but it’s true. In order to spread love throughout the world in the best way possible, is to understand how other people feel most comfortable receiving and giving affection. It is also important to understand your own love language as well so that you know which languages you may need to understand better in order to reach out to others who are different from you. So below I included a link to a Love Language quiz so that you are able to have a glimpse into which one just might be your love language.

Love Language Quiz

As always if you have any questions or concerns, feel free to leave a comment and remember to subscribe!

Happy Reading ~Focused Wanderer


One thought on “5 Love Languages

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s