Time to Diet, or Time to “LIVE-it”?

Hello, and welcome to 2017! It is so typical for many people to write “New Year’s Resolutions” every time we change our calendars back to January. While that is all well and good, what is it that YOU want to achieve this year? The idea behind resolutions is great, but they only work if you have sound reasoning behind your resolution, and you are willing to put the work in to achieving your goal. For example, it’s one thing to say you are going to go to every class, and another to actually go to all of your classes. It is one thing to say that you will save money, and another to actually plan how much money you are going to save from your paycheck and to have a “why” for your saving plan. It is one thing to say to want to lose weight, or diet and another to put in the work.

On that note, thousands of people are going on a “diet” this month, and over half of them will quit within 6 months. The reason being, that they aren’t really focused on their goal, and they give themselves rules that are way too strict. A few years ago I told my Grandma that I was going to go on a diet, and she said, “Don’t go on a diet, go on a LIVE-it.” That phrase is so simple, yet it changes my whole outlook on health, and it should change your view too! Watching what you eat is great; we should be cutting out the junk food, and the over processed “food” that many Americans, and especially college students put into their bodies. Fresh fruits and vegetables are good for you, and you should enjoy them! Lean meats are healthy when you remember not to over-indulge.

I am definitely one of those people who have a goal of losing weight this year, however I am not focusing on weight loss. I know, I sound crazy. I just told you that people quit because they aren’t focused on what they want, and I’m telling you that I want to lose weight but that it isn’t my focus. My focus is on my new LIVE-it. A LIVE-it is different than a diet, because I am going to eat fruits and vegetables that have great nutrients, and experiment with new seasonings, and trying to find the healthiest foods on my college campus. I won’t feel guilty if I have a cookie or two, because that’s okay, I am LIVING it.

If your resolution is to lose weight, I challenge you to shift your focus away from the scale and instead focus on moving more, and eating good foods. Try to cook more, and meal prep is always a good idea to set you up for success. Enjoy your life, and instead of diet, LIVE-it!

As always, thanks for reading! If you have any questions, comments or concerns feel free to contact me, and don’t forget to subscribe! 🙂

Leave a Reply

