Training for a 25K

So from the title I bet you can guess I am about to talk about a 25K race. You are right! At the beginning of November I decided that I really want to get back into running. I never really was a great runner, but ran small amounts regularly throughout high school with my marching band. I needed a goal, but it needed to be something to work for, and train for. I stumbled across the training program for a 25K, and the more I read it over, the more I felt that I could do it. Wanting this run to be about even more than just getting back into running for my own health, I looked up the charity that the race donates to. It donates to StandUp2Cancer. This was a sign to me, that I had to do it. My grandmother passed away from cancer 7 years ago this month, and since then I have done nothing to help defeat cancer. I will be running a 25k (that’s 15.5 miles, yikes!) in May 2017. Every time I think about it, I am nervous, but I am also so excited. This is such a big step, and something so important to me, and I know that if I set my mind to it I can do it. Shortly after deciding to run, I started a GoFundMe page, and within 4 days I had reached my goal of $100. My dream is to surpass that goal as much as possible, throughout the next four months. Through this blog, I plan to write weekly, or at least bi-weekly about my training progress, along with all of the normal things that I am going to post. If you would like to follow my journey, please subscribe to my blog. I ask for your thoughts and your prayers as I begin this journey that is bound to be incredible.

I want to run this race to the best of my ability so that no one else has to lose a family member pre-maturely due to cancer. Cancer is such a devastating disease, that not only affects the person whose cells are attacking their own body, but it affects their friends and their family for years to come. This disease needs to be stopped, and I believe that we can find a cure.

Not only am I running this race, but my high-school-life long best friend is going to run it with me. Even though she lives 3.5 hours away from me, we will be training together, and we will finish this race. I am so blessed to have someone like that in my life, who in a second decides to train and run 15.5 miles with me for an amazing cause. img_2843

*My best friend and I Christmas 2015.

~Focused Wanderer

Thank you for reading this, and if you would like to help me make a donation to StandUp2Cancer please donate to my GoFundMe Page. My registration fee for the race is $60 and anything over that will be given as a donation to the charity. Every little bit helps.

Thank you for reading, if you have any questions, comments or concerns, feel free to leave a comment & remember to subscribe.

Leave a Reply

