Maintaining Sibling Relationships

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-11-53-44-pm

*My sisters and I, Easter 2016

Moving away from my family has definitely taught me a lot about how to maintain relationships with my family, but especially with my sisters. I have three younger sisters, ages 16, 14 (almost), & 10. When I lived at home I had a different relationship with each of them, since we relate to different things, we are different ages, etc. It is still hard to maintain good, strong, meaningful relationships with them since my life is so crazy and far away, and I am sure many of you feel the same way. Here are a few things I try to do, and I’ve learned to do.

1.) Make your trips home count. When you visit home make it a priority to spend a little one-on-one time with each of your siblings. Maybe do something you both like to do, or even something you don’t like but you know that they LOVE. My 16 year old sister and I are complete opposites, but we love food. So much of my one-on-one time with her is spent on late-night or early morning McDonald’s trips. My 14 year old sister and I butt-heads on a lot of things, but something that is very important to her is feeling like she is being heard and listened to, so often we will just have conversations about her school work, and her life, and her friends, and band, so that she feels heard and listened to. My 10 year old sister is adorable, and so smart-she loves school so our one-on-one time is usually spent reading, or watching a movie together, or I will drop her off or pick her up from school as a surprise when I get home early.

2.) Send a text here and there. Even if you don’t text on a daily basis, you can text them every once in while individually or send them a snapchat, that way they know that you are always there for them.

3.) Call them. This goes along with the texting, but call home every once in while and ask to talk to each of your siblings individually. It can be a lot of work, but you will have amazing friendships from your siblings if you do this.

4.) Send Letters in the Mail. This form of communication has become a bit dated, but it can still make their day. Send letters to your loved ones, as a sweet message and give them the novelty of opening a letter that is addressed to them.

5.) Send memes over Facebook or Pinterest. My mom sends me little messages or bulletin board ideas through pinterest every once in a while, and somehow they always hit me at just the right moment. These are things you can do for your siblings as well. Just send them a little meme that reminded them of you, so that they know you are thinking of them.

~Focused Wanderer

All of these tips are good for maintaining friendships as well. My best friend and I try our best to keep a Snap Streak going on Snapchat, and we talk every once in a while. We share memes and videos on Facebook that remind us of the other, and it is great. So go ahead and try these, and don’t forget to subscribe for more. If you have any questions, comments or concerns, feel free to leave a comment. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

